By Rev. Fr. Anthony Adetayo (Catholic Diocese of Ijebu Ode)

At the first presbyteral council of the new dispensation of Bishop Francis O. Adesina, among many activities and discussion, the bishop inaugurated the new executive members of the council. Almost all the priests working in the diocese were in attendance including the bishop Emeritus of Ijebu Ode diocese, Most Rev Albert A. Fasina. The election was conducted by appointed returning officers among the priests and the following emerged as officers.

Chairman: Fr. Albert Igbodipe
Vice Chairman: Fr. Joseph Ogunnupebi
Secretary: Fr. Hector Osifeko
Asst. Secretary: Fr. Samuel Iyagbe
Treasurer: Fr. Sabinus Orji
Financial Secretary: Fr. Gabriel Olanrewaju
PRO: Fr. Anthony Abdulahi

The bishop encouraged the new priests’ council to pay attention to working together, listening with the heart to one another and living in brotherhood. He reiterates that he wants a happy presbyterium. He said priests must learn to turn around like Mary Magdalene at the tomb to discover Christ. He also added that he and other priests must foster continuity and necessary discontinuity in order to move forward.

The meeting concluded with the episcopal blessing of the bishop.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *