In his Apostolic Letter Vox Estis Lux Mundi of May 7, 2019, the Holy Father, Pope Francis charged all Bishops all over the world to constitute and put in place a committee and policy on safeguarding of minors and vulnerable persons in every Diocese. This he said must be done within one year of the publication of the apostolic letter.

In tandem with request of the Holy Father, Pope Francis, the Catholic Diocese of Ijebu-Ode organised a seminar for all Priests and Religious working in the Diocese in December 2019 to bring them up to date on the document of the Pope and the stand of the Church regarding Sexual abuse cases. After a successful seminar, the Diocese had to review the policy on sexual abuse of minors and vulnerable persons for Church personnel to include the new additions in the Apostolic Letter of the Pope. A new policy with the title: POLICY ON SAFEGUARDING MINORS AND VULNERABLE PERSONS FOR CHURCH PERSONNEL has thus been published and will come to full effect on June 21st, 2020.

Furthermore, after putting in place a policy and organising a seminar for the Priests and Religious of the Diocese, it was right and beffiting to constitute a committee on safeguarding of minors and vulnerable persons in the Diocese. Thus, on Wednesday, 10th June, 2020, the Diocese through her Bishop, Most Rev. Francis Obafemi Adesina officially inaugurated the committee on safeguarding of minors and vulnerable persons in the Diocese. This committee is headed by Very Rev. Msgr. Valentine Olanipekun Awoyemi.

In a Meeting that started around 10am at the JDPC Conference Hall, Ijebu-Ode, the Bishop welcomed all the members of the committee and told them of the purpose of the gathering and the task of the committee. A review of the policy was done by Fr. Uche Okocha and all present accepted the task and responsibility placed on them, while promising to discharge their duties according to the best of their ability. Some questions were raised by members of the committee and responses were given by the Bishop and the director of safeguard, Msgr Valentine Awoyemi.

The following are the members of the Committee for Safeguarding Minors and Vulnerable persons in the Catholic Diocese of Ijebu-Ode
Msgr. Valentine Awoyemi, Director
Fr. Michael Adebanjo
Fr. Gabriel Udogu, FI
Fr. James Yakubu, MSP
Fr. Uche Okocha, Secretary of the Committee
Sr. Matilda Owolagba, SSL
Barrister Felix Adebajo
Dr. Mrs. Bolanle Adefuye
Dr. Mrs. Mercy Ogayemi
Barrister Monica Osonoiki
Fr. Patrick Balogun
Fr. Michael Banjo
Fr. Albert Igbodipe

We wish them well in their new assignment. Amen.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *