By Rev. Fr. Anthony Adetayo

At the expiration of the three-year tenure of the Fr. Albert gbodipe’s led council, an election was conducted at the Presbyteral Council meeting which was held at St. Peter and Paul Catholic Parish, Atan on Tuesday 31st May 2022.

The 1983 Code of Canon Law mandates the establishment of a presbyteral council in each Diocese. According to the code, the presbyteral council “is to aid the bishop in the governance of the Diocese according to the norm of law, in order that the pastoral welfare of the portion of the people of God entrusted to him may be promoted as effectively as possible” (c. 495n. 1).

On that note, Very Rev. Fr. Joseph Ogunnupebi was elected as the Chairman of the council while Fr. John Aruleba became the Vice Chairman. Rev. Fr. Odunsi David-Mary was elected the Secretary while Fr. Charles became the Asst. Secretary. Fr. Olanrewaju Gabriel was elected the treasurer. Fr. Abdulahi Anthony became the financial Secretary while Fr. Henry Obiagbalasi became the PRO. They are to run the council for the next three years.

The Canon law gives the Bishop the right “to determine the questions to be treated by [the presbyteral council] or to receive proposals from its members” (c. 500 n.1). According to the code, the bishop of the diocese presides at council meetings, but in practice it is the custom in many places for the bishop to be a participant in the discussions while the meeting is chaired by the Chairman of the council. 

The former Chairman, Fr. Igbodipe handed over the council documents to the new Chairman while the Bishop accepted the election and new officers charging them with a responsibility of moving the body forward and seeking members who are in self-isolation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *