Brief History Of The Diocese

The history of Ijebu-Ode Diocese which was created on the 29th May, 1969, with Bishop Anthony Sanusi as its first Bishop, dates back to 1864 when Rev. Fr. Francis Borghero SMA celebrated the first Holy Mass in Itasin-Imobi. The Diocese was excised from Lagos Archdiocese and is now one of the two suffragan Dioceses of the Metropolitan Archdiocese of Lagos. It was the Society of African Mission (SMA) Fathers, (the French, the German, the Dutch and the Irish) who started primary Evangelisation. Other Missionary groups are – the Congregation of the Immaculate Heart of Mary (CICM), the Holy Ghost Congregation (CSSp), the Missionary Society of St. Paul (MSP), the Claretians (CMF), the Franciscan Friars of the Immaculate (FI), the Society of St. Joseph – the Josephites (SSJ), the Vincentians (CM), St. Patrick Missionaries (SPS), the Vocationists (SDV), the Salesians of Don Bosco who periodically joined in the Church’s missionary activities.


The female religious groups working in the Diocese include Our Lady of Apostles Sisters, OLA, the Eucharistic Heart of Jesus Sisters, EHJ, Daughters of Mary Mother of Mercy, DMMM, Handmaid of Holy Child Jesus Sisters, HHCJ, Sisters of St. Louis, SSL, Franciscan Sisters of the Immaculate, FI, Franciscan Sisters of the Immaculate Conception, OSF, Sisters of Jesus the Saviour, SJS, Holy Family Sisters of the Needy, HFSN, Passionist Sisters of St. Paul of the Cross CP, the Sisters of St. Michael the Archangel SSMA, Poor Clare Sisters, the Trinitarian Missionaries of Merciful Love, TMML and the Sisters of Notre Dame, SND. They all work together to bring the gospel message to Ijebu land.​​

The Diocese has parishes and quasi parishes, and covers nine Local Government Areas, namely: Ijebu-Ode, Ijebu-East, Ijebu-North, Ogun Waterside, Odogbolu, Sagamu, Remo- North, Ikenne and Ijebu North-East. The six secondary schools and the forty-six primary schools owned by the Church had been taken over by the government without compensation, leaving the Diocese with seven private Nursery/Primary Schools and four private Secondary Schools. The Diocese has two hospitals and some Primary Health Centres.


Our Values

The love of Christ Urges Us On


Mon - Fri 8.00 - 17.00
The Chancery. P. O. Box 32, Ijebu-Ode, Ogun-State, Nigeria

Our Mission

Most Rev. Francis Obafemi Adesina

Local Ordinary


Most Revd. Francis Obafemi Adesina was born on 28th June, 1964 to Mr. and Mrs. Adesina in Wenchi, Ghana. He is a Nigerian from Oyan in Odo-Otin Local Government Area, Osun State.

He began his elementary education at Saint Luke’s Anglican Primary School, Akure, Ondo State from 1970 to1976. He proceeded to Sacred Heart Minor Seminary, Akure, Ondo State for his secondary education from 1976 to 1981. With a renewed desire to become a priest, the young Francis proceeded to Saints Peter and Paul Major Seminary, Spiritual Year Programme, Ekpoma, Edo State, now known and called Saint John of the Cross Seminary from 1981 to 1982.

He went on to Saints Peter and Paul Major Seminary, Bodija, Ibadan from 1982 to 1989 for his philosophical and theological studies which culminated in his Ordination to the Catholic Priesthood on 14th October, 1989 for the Diocese of Oyo by Most Rev. Julius Babatunde Adelakun. He later incardinated to Osogbo Diocese at its creation in 1995.